Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED

fat buddah

Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone.

My personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of my life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

2012 has been a year of incredible learning for me. I saw one of those sarcastic placards like you see on “facebook” that said “If you want to make God laugh, make a plan.” I know it means that God has a plan for us all, although this placard did not say that very lovingly.

I thought I had a great plan. This year I was going to take my time to teach myself to paint, draw, and paint some more. I would finally take the time to read all the art books I had invested in over twenty years, and finally experiment with all the art tools I had collected. I put everything aside, including my healthful ways. I put aside diet and exercise, and with a medication change to boot, I ended up gaining about 50 lbs or so. YIKES! I hardly recognize myself! My statues going to be quite lumpy.

However, at the end of this year I learned that I didn’t need this medication or several other medications that I had been taking for years. As it turns out, a diagnosis/label, given to me 15 years ago had been changed several times since and is now “NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED”. So, am I cured? Can this condition be cured? Well, that’s debatable. Do I need that medication, and WHY, if no one has a diagnosis for me? All I know now is that I am now sleeping a regular schedule, feeling well, losing weight, exercising, having no pain, and I am “aging” well.

When the nurse reviewed my file with me, and I heard how many times my diagnosis changed to the final “NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED” I was dumbfounded. After discussing with another doctor, he explained “It means they don’t know how to diagnose you.” Well………………That’s, that. I’m done. The meds are no longer a part of my life.

I am going to quit being “diagnosis NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED”.

I am going back 16 years ago to age 42 to when I was just me. I know God brought me down this path to learn what I needed to learn, it just seems so indescribable right now. My “Daily Prompt” sculptor sculpts a statue of a Victorious Woman but not for the battle she attempted to enter; the study of artistic skills for one year, but one much deeper; that of discovering a new human being who walks around with new life skills developed over many years only to be appreciated (by me) this year. She is not “NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED” ; or any other label, she is “ME”.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED

  1. Pingback: THE DEATH OF DEPRESSION « hastywords

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

